02/02/11

Great day today. Since I brought Feather home I have been working with her twice a day on teaching her to pick up her front hooves so they can be cleaned. It’s been 8 days since she came here and TODAY was the first day I was able to successfully clean out both of her front hooves. She’s not perfect. She still tries to pull her legs away slightly. But wow, what an improvement she made today.

She needs a bunch of work on catching though. Yesterday I took off the rope halter she had worn since coming home, to put on her new nylon halter. She wanted nothing to do with it. After lunging her for a bit – trying to teach her that standing still is easy, avoiding me will be hard – my roommate came out and was able to get it on her. I didn’t want to over due it because she isn’t in the best condition.

She also turned her butt towards me 3 times today during this mornings training session. I aim to not let that happen again if I can help it.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

