04.22.11-04.26.11

Been working with Feather every chance I get weather permitting. We will have a near perfect day. Then the next day will be raining with some bitterly cold winds. Today started out awful – rain, high winds, cold cold cold. Then the sun came out a little while ago and the wind stopped blowing so I headed out to play with Cash. I could tell he wanted to go back to his original girls – Dusty, Brassy, and Bella. He stuck his muzzle into the trough and splashed around, then put his right hoof in it and pawed. I just laughed at his antics. Bella was upset too, she ran back and forth along the fence, neighing over and over. I worked a little bit on natural horseman ship although I truly don’t know much about it yet. I would approach him, scratch his withers, back up and he would follow me. I asked him to stop, back up, then I backed up and asked him to approach me again. I was tickled when he responded and followed me several times.

He lost both of his shoes the 10th of this month, the farrier put them back on the 19th. This morning I noticed his right front shoe was off. The back half of the pasture is flooded with about 3 inches of water, his hooves are soft because of all the moisture in the soil, his bell boots aren’t staying on, duct tape isn’t helping. The velcro on his cheap rubber boots isn’t staying attached.

Cash is now in the same pasture as Feather. It’s much drier there and they are getting along pretty good. But I left both halters on just in case.

We are going to pick up a box of shoe nails this week and hopefully reset his shoe ourselves as the farrier isn’t due to come out again until the 12th of May. Plus I need to check into getting a better pair of bell boots that can handle partially flooded pasture.

A few weeks ago Feather was in her pasture and I scuffed my shoe on some gravel as I went to feed her. That set her off, she raised her head real high, started snorting, was running around. I didn’t make the connection right away – I just though she was spooked because the wind was so strong. Not so. It was fairly calm yesterday so I scooted up and down the driveway alongside her to see what she would do. Same reaction.

So I brought her out and led her up and down the driveway as I scooted along through the gravel. I stopped several times and just scooted around as we stood there. She didn’t react at all. I have also been working on sacking her out using plastic bags, sticks, my lunge whip, my lasso, tarps, etc.

Before I finished our session yesterday [the 23rd] I walked Feather around the house, around and over some obstacles, and was heading around the corner of the house by the backyard and one of my dogs jumped at the fence and started barking. It startled Feather, she jumped forward a bit, stomped on my right foot, knocked me down, but thankfully she then stopped and didn’t stomp me flat which she could have easily done since I was right at her front hooves. So I am glad Feather stopped when she did, but she shouldn’t have bumped into me, or jumped on my foot.

More sacking out work is in her future. I need to add some noise elements to it. Perhaps noisy tarps, pop cans, rattling chains, empty milk jugs with rocks, etc…

It really wouldn’t have been a bad spook if she would have went around me, but stomping on my foot and knocking me to the ground is not acceptable.

I had a nice lump on my right foot. The swelling has gone down, but now it’s green, purple and red. Definitely burst a blood vessel or two.

Feather mowing the backyard.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

